Winter Blues

Not gonna lie…I kind of gave up  on this thing for awhile. It’s hard for me to be at all inspired when I feel like the world has ended and I live in an inescapable tundra of snow, clouds, and doom (oh shush, I’m not being that dramatic). I’m sure most people in the Midwest have heard of SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder), but for those of you who are blessed with sunshine and warmth year-round…it sucks. Some people aren’t affected by winter at all, but let me tell you: I am not one of those people. I hit full hibernation mode a couple of weeks ago when it was beyond freezing cold outside, and had already been leaning that way for the past month or so anyway. It gets to the point where I don’t want to get out of bed in the morning, have trouble sleeping even if I do stay in bed, have no energy, am cold no matter how many layers I have on, don’t want to do anything with anyone because that would involve me setting foot outside, etc., etc., etc.

I know, I know, boo-h00 and “would I like some cheese with my whine?” (yes, please).

That being said, I have been keeping myself as busy as possible with various activities in an attempt to ward off my winter blues:

Crafts!

Okay, so really just one singular craft, but give me some credit; I’ve never tried to do anything like this before in my life, and this actually took much longer than you’d think. This one is pretty big, so I’m hoping to make a medium-sized one and a couple of smaller ones to balance the whole thing out and create and mobile of sorts. Coming soon? We’ll see.

Yoga

No photo for this one, though I’m sure that would be amusing for all. I’ve done yoga off and on a few times in my life, all using a DVD, but I decided it was time to give classes a try. My friend Kezia had been going to Corepower classes for a couple of months, so I decided to join her and see what I thought. The great thing about Corepower is that they give you a free week to see what you think of them,  so I had nothing to lose. After that, they’re kind of pricey…but they do this cool Work For Trade thing where if you clean for a couple of hours a week, you get unlimited yoga free in any of their studios. I’m currently on the wait list for that deal, but am going to dish out the cash for a membership in the meantime, because that’s how awesome I think the classes are. They do all hot yoga (except for some level one classes) which means that the room is heated (to varying degrees depending on the class) with humidity, so you’re dripping (sometimes streaming) sweat the entire time and are completely drenched when you’re done. I happen to be a person who loves to sweat, so I totally dig these classes.

Dark photos

I’m a big fan of natural light and sunshine, so I’ve tended to shy away from taking photos indoors in dark settings, but this winter I branched out a bit, and got a lot of good practice in! Some of my favorites throughout the winter:


 

Beyond that, I have become obsessed with reading articles from theatlantic.com and grist.org. So that took up a lot of my time this winter, along with watching Dexter and Mad Men and all of my other millions of shows on Hulu.

Yikes, this has been a wordy post.  One more thing before I go, though: do you know that the word “gregarious” means? My friend Dave and I did not (even though we thought we did). We had been having a discussion about using words that sound big and smart, and thinking we know what they mean, but not really being sure…and while we were listing off words to each other, I threw out the word “gregarious”, and my friend Carly decided to look it up. Everyone around was generally in agreement that it meant something along the lines of “spunky, outgoing, energetic, full of personality”. Right?

False.

Here is what it means:

1. fond of the company of others; sociable.
2. living in flocks or herds, as animals.
3. Botany –  growing in open clusters or colonies; not matted together.
Being smart fail. Ah, well, you win some, you lose some.

Peace.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

